Senate Confirms 8 New Supreme Court Judges

The Nigerian Senate has approved the nomination of eight judges as justices of the Supreme Court.

The confirmation was made during the plenary of the lawmakers on Tuesday, October 13, following the letter of President Muhammadu Buhari making such request.

Ahmad Lawan, president of the upper chamber, read the letter to his colleagues before proceeding to approve the nominees based on the report of Senator Opeyemi Bamidele-led Senate committee on judiciary, human rights and legal matters.

President Buhari, said the appointment of judges was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council (NJC).

The judges are Lawal Garba, (Northwest), Helen Ogunwumiju (Southwest), Abdu Aboki (Northwest), and M M Saulawa (Northwest).

Other are Adamu Jauro (Northeast), Samuel Oseji (Southsouth), Tijani Abubakar (northeast), and Emmanuel Agim (Southsouth).

ALSO READ :  Lekki Shootings: Buhari Pledges Justice For Victims

Submit News/Gist To Us

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.