Donald Trump’s Government Puts Nigeria On Religious Freedom Blacklist

In what will come with mixed reactions in Nigeria given the country’s volatile religious environment, the United States Government has included Nigeria on a blacklist of nations where “systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations” are an issue of concern.

This was disclosed in a tweet by secretary of state, Mike Pompeo.

According to Pompeo, Nigeria joined extreme countries like China, Iran and Saudi Arabia.

He wrote on Twitter:

“Today the U.S. designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations.

“The U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act. reports that nations on the blacklist must make improvements or face sanctions including losses of US government assistance.

ALSO READ :  NLC Rejects Hike In Fuel Price, Says There's A Limit To What People Can Tolerate

Submit News/Gist To Us

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.